Yesterday the monthly meeting of the Brussels Bookswappers Club took place. After some hesitation on account of my recent tooth surgery, I decided to go anyway. And I am happy I did. Not only did i come home with 11 new books, but I spent an evening talking to fellow book lovers.

  

The Brussels Bookswappers Club meets once a month to swap books at a café/restaurant in Brussels. After discovering this place more than a year ago I have been trying to go every month, if possible.  While browsing the books brought by other members, or the sizeable stock of the Club itself, you have a chance to chat with people who enjoy reading and live in Brussels just like you.

In practice this is a great idea, but for a book-hoarder like me (see previous posts) giving up books is not an easy task. For me every Bookswappers Club Meeting is preceded by the heart-wrenching ritual of selecting which of my babies will leave the safety of my shelf for new adventures. There are some books that I will never part with. Luckily, not everybody are as selfishly attached to their books as I am, and I have made some great finds there in the past.

   

The evenings catch. I am particularly pleased with “The Memory of Love” by Aminatta Forna which has been on my wish list for some time.

Karen, the organiser is happy to welcome new people any time, and she encourages people to bring books in languages other than English. Currently books can be found in English, French, Dutch, German, Spanish, Italian and the Nordic languages. If you are interested in joining us for some bookswapping, bookchatting and maybe a dinner at the end of it all, check out the Facebook page or send an email to Karen on BrusselsBookswappersClub@gmail.com.

There is one small obstacle for people like me whose homes are more centrally located; the Club meets in Watermael-Boitsfort. I remember being on the bus on our way to the meet with a colleague who was joining for the first time. She looked around in amazement, and said it felt like she was travelling. Boitsfort is indeed very different from the centre of Brussels and has a sort of village feel to it. But it feels further away than it really is. Why not discover both a new area of Brussels and new books in one evening?

