And so another year begins. It is a long time since I began a new year feeling so contented and hopeful about the upcoming year.

I spent New Year’s Eve at home with my boyfriend and  Loki, our German Shepherd puppy. We tried to make predictions about the upcoming year by melting tin horseshoes; a Finnish tradition.

Three tin horseshoes to melt. One for me, one for my boyfriend and one for Loki.
Three tin horseshoes to melt. One for me, one for my boyfriend and one for Loki.
My horse shoe being heated on the stove
My horse shoe being heated on the stove. It takes a while for it to melt
Horseshoe begins to melt
Horseshoe melts. Once it begins to melt it happens very quickly
After melting the horseshoe is thrown into cold water where it forms a shape
After melting the horseshoe is thrown into cold water where it forms a shape
The three molten tins. Mine in the middle and my boyfriends on the left and Loki's on the right
The three molten tins. Mine in the middle and my boyfriends on the left and Loki’s on the right

One is supposed to be able to make predictions about the upcoming year by looking at the shape and texture of the tin. According to the interpretation my family has always used, a rough surface means money and a shiny surface indicates health. The more difficult part is reading something from the shape of the tin. The best way to do this is by holding the tin up to the wall and looking at the shadow.

But this year, however much I turned my tin this way and that, I could not read anything in its shape. Perhaps this means my imagination is disappearing or perhaps Fate chose to be quiet on this occasion.  Because what is life without the unexpected encounters that await behind those bends in the road.

New Year's bubblies     Loki on New Year's Eve    Fireworks red     Fireworks gold

Happy New Year everybody!

Here is a lovely cover by Regina Spector of My Dear Aquaintance (originally by Peggy Lee)

