As I explained in an earlier post, my blog was a way for me to begin writing again after a long spell of writer’s block. And it worked. 44 posts later I can definitely say that I am writing. What my blog has not achieved is to help me write my novel. Instead my blog has become another way for me to avoid the intimidating novel-project. I am so busy writing my blog, that I no longer have time for a novel. Or at least that is what I tell myself.

Today I decided to make an attempt at one of my novel ideas. I opened the word document, and read the first paragraph of what I wrote last time I tried my hand at the project. And then I promptly closed the document, horrified at the utter rubbish I had written. Now I do not know whether what I wrote was really that bad, or if the pressure of a novel is so big that I am overly critical. Is it really possible that I manage to string sentences together into half-way decent text on my blog, while the novel sounds like the writing of an 8-year old?

Whatever the truth of the matter, the fact is that I have escaped back into the safety of my blog yet again. I will have to take another look at that page someday in the future, but having been traumatized by my lack of writing skills today, it will probably be a while before I dare double click on that icon. Meanwhile I will keep busy here. At least it is productive procrastination!

