PASFES-banner-01The highlight of my March literary calendar is definitely the Passa Porta Literary Festival which will take place in Brussels on 20-24 March. The festival is held every two years and the previous edition was great, especially since it featured two events with David Mitchell, one of my favourite authors. This year none of my favourite writers are on the agenda but there are plenty of interesting events nonetheless. Authors such as Anne Enright, Julian Barnes and A.S. Byatt will take part.

The Man Asia Literary Prize winner will be announced on March 14th and, on a less serious note, we will also hear who wins the Diagram prize for Oddest Book Title of the Year. I particularly liked the title How Tea Cosies Changed the World (OK, I admit it is only because I like the words tea and cosy, but would it not be amazing if there was a Tea Cosy revolution one of these days)

Some publishing highlights include Life after Life by Kate Atkinson and the The Infatuations by Javier Marias. After reading this review of JM Coetzee’s latest novel in the Guardian I’m under the impression it will be somewhat mystifying. It does make me curious, but I will wait to read some additional reviews before I make up my mind about reading it. Personally I look forward to Aminatta Forna’s latest novel The Hired Man, and Ghana Must Go by Taiye Selasi.

Literary Awards

Fairs and Festivals

Books published

