Where does my time go? Days that should be so long seem so short. My days seem filled to the brim but still I accomplish so little. 

There are cracks in my day, and minutes slip through. They run away while I stand in the shower, and rise up in smoke while I wait for the toaster to throw out my bread. They sneak past in those moments I spend double checking the email I am about to send. My time is lost in the in-between. It is during those small moments of inattention that time furtively escapes and leaves me a little older but none the wiser, just hoping I had more time.

If I could capture that lost time I would read more fiction but also some non-fiction. I would write more often on my blog. I would write better on my blog. But I would also write short stories and maybe a novel. I would interact more with my fellow bloggers (to whom I apologise for so seldom liking posts or commenting on them) and remember to keep in touch with friends that live far away. If I had more time I would pay more attention to my boyfriend and play more often with my dog. I would pay more attention to friends, colleagues and acquaintances. I would try to actually have some kind of social life. I would attend interesting events (mainly literary ones). I would also try to cook dinner once in a while and clean the apartment more often. I would get more hours of sleep and enjoy lying in bed on Saturday mornings. Sometimes I  would simply sit still and listen to the birds singing or the rain whispering outside my window.

But as time has no plans of slowing down anytime soon I can only do my best with what I have left. So, I apologize in advance to everyone I neglect in the coming months and years.

For disappearing acts, it’s hard to beat what happens to the eight hours supposedly left after eight of sleep and eight of work. – Doug Larson

